Concealed Carry Permits Are Life Savers: Overview.

Cliff Stearns’s article, “Concealed Carry Permits Are Life Savers” (2009), argues that everyone should have a concealed carry permit because they are life savers. Stearns backs up this claim by stating quotes and facts that show how concealed carry has saved lives from violent crimes using various resources including a criminologist, the FBI’s Uniformed Crime Report, and from different laws. Stearns’s purpose is to point out different ways that concealed carry has saved lives in order to change the audience views to see that everyone should have a concealed carry. Given the technical language used in this article, Stearns is writing to a well-educated audience with knowledge on this topic and especially an audience who is against concealed carry.

This was one of the best articles that I have read so far. I really liked this article because it stated quotes, facts, and statistics as it’s support for it’s claim. This is the first article I have read that has done this. I find that this author was very persuasive because of the way they backed up the claim. At the beginning of this project I started out very neutral, I had heard arguments from both sides. The arguments that I heard I did not find very convincing, which is why I was neutral. This is the first article that I found that is convincing to persuade me to be pro conceal carry. This article used at least one fact, statistic, or quote in every paragraph whenever he talked about something that supported his argument. I learned so many interesting facts while reading this article. I cannot say that about any of the other articles that I have read. I do not think there is anything that I could suggest to improve this article or anything that I wish I could change with this article. I thought the author did a good job on trying to persuade the audience to change their views on concealed carry. Although I do have some questions after reading this article, how does his facts and statistic related to conceal carry on college campuses? What are the counter facts and statistic to his claim?

-Bre Jessen

Stearns, Cliff. “Concealed Carry Permits Are Life Savers.” Human Events. The Human Events Group, 26 Jan. 2009. Web. 09 Feb. 2017.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Concealed Carry Permits Are Life Savers: Overview.

  1. I think it’s awesome that this article made such a huge impact on you. I’m glad that the author did not just simply state his opinion on the topic, but used a multitude of sources, facts, and data to back up his claim and make his argument solid. Articles like this are exactly what people need in order to make informed decisions about a specific topic and not base their opinions solely on unverified beliefs.

    Like

  2. I think it is so amazing that an article has persuaded you into a more pro-conceal carry point of you! I actually read this article because of your response, and I think it was so incredibly well written. I think you found a great article, and I’m so happy you chose to write about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

