Say ‘no’ to concealed carry on college campuses: Overview.

Faith Alford’s article, “Say ‘no’ to concealed carry on college campuses” (2015), claims that the cons of allowing guns on campuses definitely outweigh the pros. The author supports this claim by stating how much concealed carry would cost universities, by increasing police officers, gun stores, and campus security, this would take away from other thing such as research. Alford’s purpose is to point out how costly concealed carry is for college campuses and to change the audience view to go against concealed carry. Given the technical language used in this article, Alford is writing to an audience that is well informed about the current argument surrounding concealed carry and especially to people that are pro-concealed carry.

I found this article to be very interesting. I have read some articles that have been against concealed carry, but none of them have ever brought up cost before. I did not even think that cost was apart of this argument. This authors states how college campuses would need to increase security, police officers, and gun stores if they allow concealed carry. I can see that all of these would definitely cost the university a lot of money and could potentially take it out of areas, such as research. However, I do not think that these things are a necessity if a campus allows concealed carry. I do not see the need for the extra police officers and campus security. I feel like thats where this article really lacked is that they did not state or show why campuses would need all of these extra things that they would need to spend a lot of money on. I also do not agree that more gun stores would need to be built and why the university would pay for something like that. It is hard for me to see this authors argument that concealed carry permit would cost universities too much money, because I do not agree that these things are needed. Although I did like that it was a different perspective from the anti-concealed carry that I have not heard before. Unfortunately, the costs that this authors states that are needed for concealed carry on campuses I have a really hard time believing those are necessities.

-Bre Jessen

Alford, Faith. “Say ‘no’ to concealed carry on college campuses.” The Daily Cougar. The Cougar, 05 Mar. 2015. Web. 17 Feb. 2017.

3 thoughts on “Say ‘no’ to concealed carry on college campuses: Overview.

  1. Very interesting article and I agree that looking at the perspective of cost is something that I have not heard before in this argument. The argument would have been better supported if the author provided examples of past Universities who had to increase spending after allowing students to conceal carry on campus. I agree with your point that I can not think of a logical connection between more gun stores being built at the expense of the University. That doesn’t make any sense. I wonder if there are any studies that show proof of this happening in the past.

    Like

    1. wow i have never seen this side of the argument before Im interested to read more about this.i would like to see some more stats and stuff backing this up.

      Like

  2. This is a very interesting article! I have never heard the cost side of this argument. Reading through your response, I have to agree that even though it is an interesting point, I don’t know if it makes a lot of sense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

